WIND BENEATH KING DAVID’S WINGS

One of my personality traits is a tendency to think a lot. I do my best thinking when I’m drifting off into my own world in the midst of people or while taking a shower. I think too much at times about whatever pops up in my mind, but better too much than be one who seldom has their thinking cap on.

I ponder such things as how some Bible characters got little coverage; whereas, others got widespread coverage. For example, those who have any knowledge of the New Testament are familiar with disciple Peter; however, James the son of Alphaeus might not ring a bell.

As for the Old Testament, my hunch is King David received more coverage than any other character. That is just a hunch, but if I’m wrong, David is at least in the top five. David is one of my favorites to study. There’s a lot of David to take in. We even know who his ancestors were and some of their stories such as the love story of his great grandparents Ruth and Boaz. David lived an extraordinary life. After all, a shepard boy isn’t supposed to grow up and become a king. But a prince is supposed to.

The man who should have been king was of all people David’s best friend Jonathan. Though no fault of his own, Jonathan should have followed his father to the throne. If things had been different, there might have been a city of Jonathan instead of a city of David.

Jonathan’s father, Saul, wasn’t a prince himself. He was notified by the prophet Samuel that God had chosen him to be Israel’s first king. Saul, at first, didn’t seem to be keen on sitting on the throne. When Samuel gathered all the tribes of Israel together and Saul was chosen, where was Saul? He was hiding among baggage according to I Samuel 10:22. However, it didn’t take Saul long to enjoy the perks of being King. He got so carried away with power that he forgot just Who it was that put him on the throne in the first place — God. That’s when he got in trouble and the punishment was Saul’s descendants would not follow him to the throne. Thus, Jonathan who should have been king never was.

At some point, Jonathan had come to the realization that his dear friend David would be king instead of him. It would have been understandable if Jonathan had turned on David since it wasn’t his sins that deprived him of the throne; it was the sins of the father It wasn’t fair, but life isn’t always fair. Jonathan was thrown a curve ball upon realizing he’d never be king. He graciously accepted it as God’s will instead of lashing out at David. He perhaps would have liked to have become king, but it just wasn’t to be and so he made the best of it.

We’ll never know what kind of king Jonathan would have made and how it would have compared to David’s reign. I can relate to that for I’ll never know what my life would have been like without autism. I might be a wife, mother, and grandmother for all I know. But like Jonathan did, I have to accept what “is” instead of what might have been.

David as king obtained many world possessions. However, I think what was more valuable than any of his possessions was the devoted friendship of Jonathan, the man who should have been king.

Many of those living on the spectrum, including myself, knows what it is to feel invisible. We are seldom the center of attention or in the inner circle. I see myself as being mostly behind the scenes, but a player nevertheless. I see nothing wrong with helping someone else shine. That way any success they achieve, well, I had a part in it.

Jonathan did not live to see his best friend take the throne. It wasn’t to be for Jonathan to be by David’s side during David’s reign. But he was there for David from the time they became friends to the time he drew his last breath on the battlefield.

Back in 1990, a song entitled “Wind Beneath my Winds” was Song of the Year. It was sung by actress Bette Midler for the soundtrack to the film “Beaches”. The words of that song remind me of David and Jonathan with David being the wings and Jonathan being the wind. The wings are visible; the wind is not. Jonathan was in the background and died in battle fighting for the people he served only as the son of the king.

Jonathan was content to let David shine. He walked a step behind him. David was the one with all the glory as the king; whereas, Jonathan was the wind beneath the king’s wings.

Leave a Reply

