Just How Old is Old

If you want to know what “old” is, don’t ask the ones who have had fewer birthdays. Your best bet is to ask a centenarian.

A few years ago, I was subbing as a teacher’s aide in a special education class for those students on the autistic spectrum.  One of the boys asked me, “How old are you?”  I don’t know when it was that I stopped liking that question, but the time has long since passed.  Since my responses tend to be awkward, especially when put on the spot, I blurted something about it wise not to ask a woman her age.

He didn’t take my answer lying down.  He asked, “Can I guess your age then?”  I will never cease to be amazed as to what will come out of the mouth of a child.  With hindsight, I sure gave him the wrong answer by saying “Yes”.

His answer had me minutes later looking in the bathroom mirror asking myself, “Do I really look ten years older?”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

