It Isn’t as Easy as it Looks

On the job as a substitute teacher’s aide, if there’s day I get by without a student asking me to tie their shoes, it’s a rare day.  If the kids knew how long it took me to learn to tie my own shoes back in the day, they might not want me to tie ’em.

I was watching a student the other day practice tying his shoes and it was a monumental task for him.  His struggle brought back memories of my own a mere five decades ago.  My Mom probably remembers my battle with shoe laces more than I do.  I eventually learned but I never catered to shoes laces.  It’s obvious from my shoe closet that I still prefer shoes with no strings attached.

This prompted me to do a Google search to see if there was a connection between autism and learning to tie shoes.  The search confirmed there is a connection.  There are even special shoe laces made just for those on the autism spectrum.

I once was with a kindergarten instructor who was holding a “tying-shoe” exercise with some of her kinders.  She asked me to help.  ME?  The one who wears velcro-strapped shoes just to avoid having shoes to tie.

I didn’t want to admit that my teaching a child to tie their shoes was like a monkey teaching a bird to fly.  HA!  Granted I have been tying my own shoes for decades, but doing it and teaching someone else to do it are two different things.  I tie without thinking about it.

I got on my knees beside the students and helped them the best I could.  I’ll just say I had a much easier time that day helping the kinders with their jumping jacks than I did of showing them how to tie their shoes.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “It Isn’t as Easy as it Looks

  1. Once again, I cannot believe what I am reading!!!! I could not teach my daughter to write, ride a bike or TIE HER SHOES! Then I found out that I wasn’t tying my shoes right either! This has to be a divine intervention for me to find you, Marsha!!!! I am almost in tears.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your response. You made my day! It was divine intervention that I learned I had autism when I did and how I did. It was through my job of working with autistic children and crossing paths with a 12 year old who did specific things I did when I was her age. I’m still learning ways in which autism affects my life from the past to the present. I still haven’t learned how to “properly” tie shoes. I notice teachers/aides “double tie” kid’s shoes and I haven’t got up the nerve to ask how to do that. HA! I was a late starter in learning to ride a bike and FORGET roller skating. I noticed that some of the autistic students had problems blowing their nose. Well, I was a LATE starter in learning to do that too. I have problems with left and right and when I approach a door, I’ll get it right half the time of whether to push or pull. Despite of all this, I was a honor roll student.

      I do wish the fashion wear for school kids these days were to wear shoes without strings attached. HA!

      Like

Leave a Reply

