Jump, Dribble, or Hit the Wall

All the schools in my area had a “heart” fund drive during last February that included heart health awareness and jump roping.  The kids solicited dollar bills from kin and neighbors to raise money to help those whose hearts are not healthy.  As for what jump roping has to do with heart awareness, well, when I jump rope, my heart does pick up its beat!

It was news to me that jump roping isn’t just a kid’s game.  It is a sport!  I was subbing for a P.E. aide on that day each class was shown a video of an Olympian jump roper who did rope tricks at lightning speed.  The coach demonstrated how to correctly jump rope and the students attempted to imitate her demonstration.  Instead of just monitoring the students, I took a rope and joined them.  Since I had not jumped rope since my elementary school days, my hips got quite a jolt.  I was happy I managed not to trip and fall over the rope.

I have read on more than one autism website that individual sports such as running or swimming are ideal for those living on the spectrum.  That wasn’t news to me.  I don’t run or jog, but I do walk in a park by myself sometimes.  Since I often sub in gym classes, I have more opportunity to jump a rope or dribble a basketball.  I am best at doing “solo” activities, whether it be taking a whirl with a hula hoop or writing a blog.

I’d just rather compete against myself rather than another human being(s).  In my leisure time, I’ll go on a date with my tennis racket and ball to play against a practice wall.  The wall always wins, but I get exercise.  Sometimes I receive mental therapy by imagining that whatever is irritating me is the wall.  When I do that, my ball and racket get a hard workout too.  HA!

When I was in the gym one day, a couple of aides and students were at one basketball hoop playing together.  I was shooting baskets, too, but at a nearby hoop by myself.  I wasn’t entirely alone.  I had some social interaction.  The youngest student, kindergarten age, was in my shadow dribbling the ball to her own delight.  She is a little one living on the autism spectrum too.  We were content doing our own thing – she dribbling the ball and I aiming for the hoop.

 

 

Leave a Reply

