The Boy and His Pencil Magic

He can’t hold a conversation but he does understand instructions.  When he started spinning in circles as if he was on a dance floor, I asked him to sit down at the lunch table.  I’ll give him credit for sitting down ten seconds worth.

He is a hand flapper.  I am a knee bobbler myself.  I know all about the need to do repetitive movements since I’m on the same spectrum as this boy.  I understand that hand flapping comes naturally to him.  It’s just what he does.  That’s the only explanation I know to give for my quirky autism habits.

In addition to hand flapping, drawing is natural to him.  His drawings are off the charts for someone his age.  The activity calms him down and helps him focus too.  In between class assignments, he’ll draw a picture.  When the teacher is talking to the class, he must put his pencil down.  I wonder if he doesn’t just drift off to “la-la land.”  He might listen better with a pencil in hand.

He reminded me of myself when I was his age and did my homework with the TV on.  Instead of the TV set being interference, it helped me focus having it on.  Dead silence would have been the bigger distraction.  To this day, I do word puzzles with the tube on.

His drawings show amazing creativity.  It was heart-touching watching him draw and looking at some of his drawing samples.  He is a boy who can say only a few words but can draw a picture worth many words with his pencil magic.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

