The Energizer

If there was a video camera on me at 4 or so a.m. in the morning, it might find me jogging in place on the patio deck talking to myself.  Before someone calls out the mental health emergency responders, I am totally aware of where I am, what I am doing, and what time it is.  HA!

The sources of my “step” morning ritual, a Smart Watch on my left arm and a Fitbit on my right, are counting my steps.  FYI: I wear both because I like to compare the totals the two gadgets come up with at the end of the day.  Weird, I know.  The reasons I get up early are so I can be alone to do my thing and to get an early start on my stepping up to the plate.  I will be a uncomfy “aspie” if I don’t reach my daily “step” goal by the end of the day.

A few months ago, I purchased a new car while trading in my old one.  It was hard parting with my set of wheels since I am prone to be strongly attached to my things.  When they told me that all my old car’s tires would be replaced, well, then, I didn’t mind so much divorcing it.

My new car is MY new baby.  I have had it for four months now and I’m still keeping it spicking span clean inside and out.  I will go out and vac inside the car, clean the windows, etc. when I’m in idle mode or nearing meltdown country.  Just another activity I can do that helps smooth the wheels turning in my mind and keeps my “baby” handsome.

One of those most delighted with my turning into “The Energizer” is my Mom who is still active but doesn’t get around at the same speed as she used to.  She has long enjoyed working in the yard, but Arthur (aka arthritis) gets in her way a lot of times.  I started helping out and to my surprise, yard chores have a soothing effect on me as does rocking, pacing, and jogging.  The hard part is knowing when to stop.

My Autism Spectrum Disorder pushes me to perfection.  I can’t leave the yard until it at least looks like I have won the battle with the leaves where there is a heap fewer of them or the hedge looks trimmer than when I started.  Oh, by the way, my Mom doesn’t miss her once quality time with the rake or the clippers now that the energizer bunny has taken it over.

 

 

Leave a Reply

