Oh, Mom, Do I Have to?

A seemingly simple errand can present speed bumps on the Autism Spectrum. The other day my Mom sent me on an errand to pick up some items at the grocery store. Her list was short but heavy. Three cartons of bottled water, 24 bottles each, is not for sissies to pick up. I didn’t mind since it fit into my “daily step” count on my “Fitbit”. It’s become an obsession to meet my daily goal. By just unloading the water, I got around 500 steps in.

Handling the heavy water load was a breeze compared to taking care of a mere pound of ground beef. Why? I had to go to the meat counter and request a pound from a total stranger known as a butcher. As soon as I walked into the store, I headed for the meat department to get it over with to relieve the tension I had since I left the house. When the butcher gave me the wrapped pound of beef with a “have a nice day” greeting, my anxiety took a hike and I could breathe easy-like.

When I lived by myself for over 20 years, I don’t recall ever making a grocery store trip that included a stop at where the butchers hang out. I didn’t have a desire to learn how to cook what the butcher had to offer but if I had, I still probably would have been reluctant because it would require social interaction.

This is just one example of a puddle in my daily life of living on the Spectrum.

Leave a Reply

