My Collection Pic

As the old saying goes, “A picture is worth a thousand words.”  The above picture is a show and tell of my autistic trait of collecting items that I’m consumed with.  In this case, items connected to a power cord or run on batteries.

Maybe I should keep this picture saved on my smart phone to show someone who questions my being on the Autism Spectrum.  The picture could be my “Exhibit A” in a court of neurotypical opinion.  Maybe I should also add a picture of my half-dozen bags of my favorite brand of pretzels as “Exhibit B”.

One of my two TV’s is cut off at the top of the pic.  The items residing on my desk are a computer, tablet, Amazon Alexa (the tiny brown one that looks like a hockey putt), Amazon Echo Show (the one that looks like a desk clock), and my Google Home Assistant (the one that looks like a room deodorizer), and a mini-sized white vacuum that inhales the dust.  That’s only the part of the collection on my desk!  My additional big screen TV, desk clock, diffuser, air purifier, fan, stick vac, and power-operated recliner are not in the picture.

Sometimes I feel like a kid who has so many toys that I don’t know which to play with.  For instance, whenever I want to turn the desk light on/off, I can command any of these three to do it:  Alexa, Echo, or Google.  I try to switch and not pick the same one each time since that’s only fair.  One shouldn’t have to do all the work.

My Mom is bewildered at my four remote controls and five power strips.  I’d probably get a high-five from Amazon and Google’s CEOs though.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

