Watch Out for the Gray-Haired Lady on the Scooter

On a list of female Asperger Syndrome (AS) traits, I highlighted in yellow those that pertained to me.  It would have been faster if I had just marked those that didn’t.  One of the traits was “Is youthful for her age in looks, dress, behavior, and tastes.”  Maybe that explains why I at 59 1/2, I am spending a good bit of my leisure at the park or on a bike trail taking one of my brand new electric scooters for a spin.  

When I was growing up, I sometimes acted as if I had not gotten the memo that childhood comes before adulthood.  I had strong opinions on grown-up issues pertaining to religion, politics, and social issues.  This was when kids my age were riding bicycles, skates, and playing with hula hoops.  I preferred hanging out with the grown-ups listening to their adult conversations.  That is until the adults shooed me out of the room.  Now I prefer hanging out with the kids at family gatherings.

Another trait is obsessions and I have a long list of those.  Some have come and gone and some have not.  When I like something, I really, really like it.  There is no middle ground.  The same can be said of when I don’t like something such as green peas or merry-go-rounds.

Well, my latest craze began innocent enough.   I was subbing for a P.E. aide and was helping the coach set up for the first class of the day.  He put out some scooters which are a highly popular piece of equipment with the students.  They looked like fun to me just as skateboards and roller skates.   These were things I tried and fell for back in my younger days.  I mean “fell” as in landing on the floor in a painful sort of way.  My lack of gross motor skills is a common ASD trait I can lay claim too.

Image result for floor scooters for kids

On a dare, I got on one since it was just me and the coach and I knew he wouldn’t laugh at me.  How come?  His Mom is one of my dearest friends.  He knows I’d tell on him.  It only took a minute, if that, that I fell in love with the scooter.  I wanted one!  I immediately got on my cellphone and searched on Amazon.  After so many days of research, I decided that this was strictly a “kid” thing and is more tailored for the gym floor than outside at a park or on the sidewalk.  And, most importantly, it isn’t as easy as it used to be to get up from the floor.

But in my research, I discovered electric scooters.  Oh, my goodness!!!  After about a month’s worth of research, I bought not one, but two.  One is a folding electric scooter and the other is a Segway brand scooter, also called transporter.

It was an awkward beginning with both of them.  After all, I still lack in the gross motor skills department.  My big toe got the worst end of my first date with Pinkie (nicknamed cause its pink).  It took a couple of weeks before my big toe looked like it did before the fall.  Seggie did damage on my right hip and elbow.  I took the falls like a champ though.  NO FEAR!  I hopped right back on.  Piggie and Seggie weren’t gonna knock me down and get to sit in a corner taking it easy.

The scooters were my additions to my ever-growing obsessive collection of electronic gadgets. That’s why I had no interest in a scooter board that is moved by manual labor.  This over the board attraction to scooters reminds me of an obsession I had years ago that has since gone.  I once possessed a herd of “vacuum cleaners”.  They are electronic after all.  My apartment back then resembled a vac used store outlet.  At least, scooter riding is more fun than vacuuming ever was.

I also used to have a robot collection back in my mid-40’s.  I once took one I called “Billy” to work and the “adults” in the room were fascinated; however, I might have misunderstood their expressions and they might have been thinking, “what is a middle-aged woman doing living with toy robots?”  I have since given up custody of them to my nephews. 

Below are pictures of my two new toys.  In a town of one forty-three thousand something, I haven’t seen anyone on one of these toys or something similar.  When I take either to the park or trail, I suspect all pairs of eyes within viewing distance are pinned on me.  Most especially when I’m cruising on Seggie.  I do not make eye contact with those I pass by.  That comes fairly natural to me anyway.  I don’t care to see the expression that suggests “what is a gray-haired lady think she’s doing on that thing?”  However, I did appreciate overhearing a small boy who was wise beyond his years say, “That’s a nice scooter you have, Maam.”

 

Image result for segway mini proImage result for gotrax gliding scooter

 

Leave a comment